L.P. Hartley: Podolo

A Creepy Story for October!

Frank T. Zumbachs Mysterious World

The evening before we made the expedition to Podolo we talked it over, and I agreed there was nothing against it really.

But why did you say you’d feel safer if Walter was going too?’ Angela asked me. And Walter said, ‘What good should I be? I can’t help to row the gondola, you know.’

Then I felt rather silly, for everything I had said about Podolo was merely conversational exaggeration, meant to whet their curiosity, like a newspaper headline: and I knew that when Angela actually saw the dull little island, its stony and inhospitable shore littered with broken bottles and empty tins, she would think what a fool I was, with my romancing. So I took back everything I said, called my own bluff, as it were, and explained that I avoided Podolo only because of its exposed position: it was four miles from Venice, and if…

View original post 3,479 more words

Leave a Reply

